We Are Not Hiring And We Do Not Employ Missy Herb – Job Application Scam Report.
There is someone who is “spoofing” our email address (or at least that’s what my website host tells me). They are pretending to be us, sending out emails saying that we’re hiring and then asking people to fill out a rather suspicious form. My host tells me that the emails are not coming from our server. Therefore there is — to my utmost frustration – apparently nothing we can do about it.
So, I’m posting this to try to give people a heads up…
If you have received an email like the one below, this is not us.
PLEASE do not respond. This is a scam:
Thanks for sending us your info. I really like your style and your resume looks great. I’ve forwarded your information over to Jessica who is the director of our web content division. She will be handling your application from this point forward. Before you get started with Jessica, I will need you to complete our job application found here:
http://thewritersforhire.wufoo.com/forms/job-application/
Once completed, you can expect to hear from Jessica within 24-48 hours with a final decision on your employment. Good Luck!
Kind Regards,
Missy Herb
Director of Human Resources
hr@thewritersforhire.com
The Writers For Hire
http://www.thewritersforhire.com
If anyone has any suggestions on how to stop these people, or who to report this to, I would be greatly appreciative.














RT @tweetmeme We are Not Hiring and We Do Not Employ Missy Herb | The Write Blog http://bit.ly/4q2MY5
You can probably report the scam here:
http://www.ic3.gov/default.aspx
Thank you, Emily! I will do that immediately.
It has been reported to the IC3 under case number Complaint Id: I0912041817099701. If anyone else knows of anyplace that I should be reporting this, please let me know.
You’re welcome.
I flagged the ad on craigslist once I found out it wasn’t for real. They have it flagged for removal.
Here is the link for the ad I originally saw. I hope it helps.
Sue
Thanks Sue, I appreciate it!